Friday, March 27, 2015

Caribbean Food: The Real Jerk Restaurant Review (Toronto)


The Real Jerk Restaurant Toronto

We've been living in Toronto for several months now.  I've walked by this restaurant with the clever name dozens of times, but never went in until a couple of days ago.  The Real Jerk Restaurant specializes in Caribbean food.  I ordered the 1/4 chicken. The chicken wasn't dry and it was seasoned well. It had the classic jerk flavor.   It was smokey and spicy, but not too spicy. The entree included the chicken, rice and peas, plantains and coleslaw.  Everything was delicious.  The entire meal was filling and satisfying.



1/4 Chicken Dinner
1/4 chicken meal


The staff were friendly and greeted me as soon as I walked in.  My take-out order was ready and waiting for me when I arrived. The Real Jerk has a bar inside the restaurant with plenty of seating.   They have events there every week. I will definitely return to try more things off of the menu. 

The Real Jerk
Gerrard Location Hours

The Real Jerk Restaurant is located at 842 Gerrard in Riverdale 416-463-6055. That's the location I went to.  The other location is The Real Jerk Beaches 416-690-8752.  It's located at 1004 Kingston Road. The Beaches hours are Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Sunday 11:30am-10:00pm, Thursday 11:30am-11:00pm, Friday and Saturday 11:30am-12:00am. Reservations are accepted.  To find out more about The Real Jerk Restaurant follow them on Twitter and Facebook.  Also check out their website for the latest events at TheRealJerk.com.

Thursday, March 26, 2015

Pure Via Stevia Review



Continuing my search for a healthy no calorie sweetener that I like, I found Pure Via Stevia while in Chicago last week.  It's a natural alternative to artificial sweeteners  Pure Via Stevia is a non-GMO (not the product of bioengineering) sweetener.  And it's actually sweet enough for me.  I put it in tea, oatmeal, coffee, smoothies and according to the website you can use it in recipes just like sugar. 

To find out more about Pure Via  products and recipes go to their website PureVia.com or you can follow them on Twitter and like them on  Facebook. Pure Via products can be purchased directly from Amazon (affiliate link).  I bought the 40 packet box at Jewel-Osco for 4.99.


Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Songza Has Music For Every Mood-Tuesday Tip


Songza

This my one of my favorite apps to listen to music.  

Songza is great because you can pick the music you want to listen to according to your activity or mood. There is music for every mood you can think of. Some of the moods included are  gloomy, mellow, sweet, trashy and warm.  The activities listed are some of the usual ones you would think of like making dinner, studying or working out. Then there are some activities I would have never expected like shopping at a vintage store, stripping or starring in a rom com.  My favorite is reading in a coffee shop

You pick the mood or activity and then pick the genre of music you would like to hear with it.



Songza
I would choose bedtime

I really like listening to music as I go to sleep. Sometimes I listen to the Amazon Forest or sleep-inducing soundscapes. It has a sleep timer that I set and then I just drift off to sleep.

Songza Genres
Quiet Jazz is a favorite 

Songza App
Sleep Timer

Songza is available on iOS, Android, Windows 8, BlackBerry 10, Sonos and the web. I downloaded the app from Google Play.

Do you have the Songza app?!  Or do you have another app you use to listen to music? Let me know in the comments section below.  I would like to hear from you!

Friday, March 20, 2015

Honey Butter Fried Chicken (Chicago) Review


Fried Chicken in Chicago


From the first time I heard those four words Honey Butter Fried Chicken I have wanted to visit that restaurant.  I finally got the chance while visiting Chicago on a very cold day in March 2014.  I made my way from my mom's house on the far south side to Honey Butter Fried Chicken on the northwest side of the city.

As I entered the restaurant I noticed it was packed with people.  There was also a long line for takeout orders.  I stood in the line trying to see the menu.  I finally decided on the four piece meal.  I saw the price and was a bit shocked, but I decided to get the buttermilk biscuit and a side of kale and cabbage slaw.  The price for all of that was $22.  I had to wait about 15 minutes for my meal, but I enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff were very friendly.

Fried Chicken in Chicago
4 piece meal with corn muffins
It was a long trip home and I was very anxious to eat the food.  I had heard so many good things about it.  Finally home and I open the box.  I was surprised at how big the pieces were and that it was only white meat.  I share the meal with my dad.  Unfortunately the chicken got cold and I had to reheat it.  I put the honey butter on it.  It was good, crunchy and seasoned well. Probably would have been better right out of the pan.  Very pleased that the chicken was boneless. My dad loved the corn muffins that came with the chicken.  I thought the buttermilk biscuit was delicious.

Honey Butter Fried Chicken Biscuit
Buttermilk Biscuit and Honey Butter

The kale and cabbage slaw was good and I loved the yogurt cumin dressing.  I would go to Honey Butter Fried Chicken again, but because it is a bit pricey it would be on special occasions.  I do want to try some of the brunch items.  My next trip to Chicago I will make it a priority to eat there again.  They give you plenty of honey butter.  I had enough left over to put on my toast and in my oatmeal. So good!

Kale and Cabbage Slaw
Kale and Cabbage Slaw with Pomegranates Yogurt Cumin Dressing


Honey Butter Fried Chicken is located at Located at 3361 N. Elston Ave. Chicago, IL 60618
(773) 478-4000.  Their hours are Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday 11am-9pm.. Friday and Saturday 11am-10pm. You can connect with them on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook!

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Tuesday Tip: Pure Protein Powder Review

100% Whey Protein Powder

I've tried many whey protein powders.

A protein shake after a workout is a great treat for me. I really like to make mine with fruit and coconut milk. Pure Protein Powder is the whey protein powder I've been using lately. I'm currently using the vanilla flavor.  It's 100% whey protein, has 25 grams of protein, only 2 grams of sugar and 150 calories per scoop.


This two pound tub is really affordable too.  I bought it back in January and I'm only half way through it.

 Protein Powder Nutrition Facrs


I enjoy the taste, it blends well and makes my protein shakes creamy. 

Learn more about Pure Protein Protein Powder and other Pure Protein products by following them on Facebook, TwitterYoutube    and Instagram or visiting them at  PureProtein.com.

Have tried any of the Pure Protein products?! Let me know by leaving a comment below.

Disclaimer: I received no monetary compensation for this review. The opinions are my own and results may vary.

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Tuesday Tip: Budget Friendly Moisturizer


Anti-aging moisturizer
I've been dealing with some skin issues for the past year. I'm currently in peri-menopause. Trying to moisturize  my dry skin has been something I've been struggling with for the past year. I've used some things with some success, but I've read that estrogen loss can effect the collagen in your skin and lead to collagen loss. Read more about hormones and your skin here.

I decided to look for a collagen cream.  I really didn't know which one to choose, there are so many on the market. I found L'Oreal Paris Collagen Moisture Filler Day/Night Cream on Amazon.  It has mostly good reviews. Since I was using a gift card and ordering some other things too, I decided to try it. And you can't beat the price!

I like that you can use it for day or night. It blends in great, not greasy at all. My skin is moisturized all day. Sometimes I would touch my skin and be amazed that it's not rough and dry. My skin looks healthier,smoother. 

 


This cream has a light fresh scent and it's not irritating to my skin at all.  The cream is not heavy. Once I put it on, I forget it's there. I highly recommend this cream, especially if you have severe dry skin. L'Oreal Paris Collagen Moisture Filler Day/Night Cream is available at Amazon.com Target.com, Drugstore.com and Walmart.com. You can find out more information about this product and other L'Oreal products at L'Oreal.com.
  
Do you use L'Oreal Paris Collagen Moisture Filler Day/Night Cream?! Do you have a budget friendly moisturizer or anti-aging cream that you can recommend?! Are you dealing with collagen loss or going through peri-menopause?! Please leave a comment below! 



Disclaimer: I received no monetary compensation for this review. The opinions are my own and results may vary. There are affiliate links in this post. If you click on the link and buy something, I will receive a commission.

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Quick Tuesday Tip: Kindle App



I remember the first time I saw the Kindle. I was watching Oprah with my mom. It was of course one of her "Favorite Things" show. I said to her that my husband would love that because he's a voracious reader. I got the Kindle for him for Christmas. Back then it was $300.00.  He didn't like it. He likes to feel the book in his hand. So I sent it back.

Fast forward to today and the Kindle is still around, but a heck of a lot cheaper! Check it out here! But now you don't need the Kindle any more to download books from Amazon.  I have a Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 that I love! The Kindle app is one of my favorite apps. There are over 850,000 books to choose from. I have downloaded so many books from Amazon. There are a lot free books available too.

It only takes 60 seconds for a book to be downloaded. If you're not sure about a book, Amazon can send you a sample. This is a fantastic app!  And the best thing is...it's free!

Do you have the Kindle app?! Or are you like my husband and only read paper books. Yes, he still refuses to read any book on an eReader.  Let me know what you think of it. Please leave a comment below or go to the Contact Page to find out how to connect with me!



Disclaimer: I received no monetary compensation for this review. The opinions are my own and results may vary. There are affiliate links in this post. If you click on the link and buy something, I will receive a commission.